Ruth I. Jones
National President

 Charles J. Brown
1st Vice President 
 and Easter Region Director

Eastern Region Directors


The Eastern Region
Conference Begins

In 1957, a young lady by the name of Alma Cooper Hawkins was the Regional Director of her sorority, Sigma Gamma Rho.  At the same time, she was an active and outspoken voice in the National United Church Ushers Association of America, Inc. (NUCUAA, Inc.). Sis. Hawkins believed that a regional director of all the eastern states of the NUCUAA, Inc. would allow the representatives to communicate and work together to build the organization, much in the same way as in her sorority.  She felt that this type of communication would facilitate the unification of the Eastern Region in meeting to discuss the business of the national body prior to the annual convention.  This idea, once presented, was well received by Bro. Raymond A. Smith, Fourth Vice President, of the NUCUAA, Inc.

 In May, 1957, Raymond Alexander Smith, National Fourth Vice President, NUCUAA, Inc.  met at the YMCA in Washington, D.C.  with representation of five States: 
Maryland, Delaware, Massachusetts, New York, Pennsylvania,  and the District of Columbia (96 persons were in attendance) and organized the Eastern Regional Conference.  Vice President Smith served as Easter Regional Director for 11 years.

In July, 1957, 4th Vice President, Bro. Smith presented the idea of establishing the Eastern Region to the NUCUAA, Inc.  Brother Henry Ballard, President of the NUCUAA, Inc. allowed the convention to hear the recommendation. The idea was accepted by the voting body of the NUCUAA, Inc. which organizationally established the Eastern Region and other regional delegations.

To day, the Eastern Region consists of ten states:  Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Massachusetts,  New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Virginia.  The Regional Director is 2nd Vice President, NUCUAA, Inc., Brother Charles J. Brown.